top of page

Interview with Lana Campbell


MY INTERVIEW WITH AUTHOR LANA

CAMPBELL!!

THIS IS MY INTERVIEW WITH AUTHOR LANA CAMPBELL. THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO INTERVIEW WITH ME!!!

What’s your name and what genre would you consider your books to be?

I’m Lana Campbell and my books are paranormal romances.

Tell me about your book. How did you come up with that (story, angle, idea)?

Christian is the exception to Tiffany’s rule that all males are louses. For years Tiffany has lusted after Christian and of late she can’t help but wonder what it might be like to have a brief fling with him. The opportunity to explore her secret fantasy appears when Christian offers her a job as the IT person for his practice, the V clinic. She knows if he gives her the green light, she’s going to have a romp with her sexy vampire. When the night finally arrives and she and Christian have sex, the experience is so overwhelmingly powerful, Tiffany backpedals and tries to turn down the heat between them. She’s human. He’s a vampire. She can’t afford to fall in love with him.

Christian has other ideas. During their sexual encounter, he discovers Tiffany is his life mate and he vows to change her thinking. His intentions are put on hold when he gets caught up in an angel of death’s vicious plan to chemically terminate V clinic patients’ pregnancies. Tiffany herself falls victim to a lethal dose of arsenic and Christian can only save her by turning her into a vampire. She’s furious when she wakes from her turning and discovers what Christian has done. She wants nothing to do with him ever again, but when she’s kidnapped by this angel of death and used as a guinea pig for deadly experiments she only has Christian to turn to save her life.

How did you get interested in writing this particular genre (historical novels, mysteries, sci-fi, children’s books, etc.)?

I’ve always enjoyed reading vampire stories and movies. My kids inspired me to write vampire stories because they were so into Twilight at the time I started writing them. And then it just became an addiction!

What kind of research did you do for this book?

I had to do a lot medical research for Dark Experiments because of the poisons the villian used to murder innocent pregnant vampire patients of Christian’s. Then I had to research possible symptoms of the drugs used. It was a challenge.

Can you tell me about your Series?

My series starts with Forever and a Night the first book about Mia Peebles a human sous chef that falls for a billionaire playboy who happens to be a vampire, but she doesn’t know it. She has three grown girls and each sequential book is about one of her kids. She ends up having two more with the hero of Forever and a Night, Nathan. I’ve written books about them two but they aren’t published yet.

Do you have a favorite book out of this series?

My favorite book is book five in my series about Nathan’s son and a female vampire, Alabama Rain who is a thief of drugs and a dealer. He saves her from her evil father and helps free her from a life of danger.

Was it always meant to become a series?

Yes. I always knew I wanted it to become a series when I wrote in Mia’s three adult daughters into her story. They needed vampire love interests too.

What’s a typical working day like for you? When and where do you write? Do you set a daily writing goal?

I work full time so I set a goal of about three hours of writing a day. More on the weekends. I write at home in a quiet atmosphere.

Do you have a new book in the making and if so, what’s the name of your upcoming book?

The next book in my series is about Mia’s middle daughter Chelsie who is an OB/GYN for vampires. She discovers she is dying from a terminal brain tumor and wants to turn into a vampire to save her life. Along her journey to accomplish her goal she falls in love with a vampire partner of hers and he helps save her from an ex boyfriend who is evil and abusive.

What do you think of book trailers? Do you have a trailer or do you intend to create one for your own book?

I think book trailers are awesome and I have one for my new book Dark Experiments. Catch it on Facebook!

What do you consider to be your best accomplishment?

My best accomplishment was publishing two of my books. I worked long and hard to achieve this goal and now I’m working long and hard marketing them.

What’s the best thing about being an author?

The best part of being an author is writing. If you love to write and it’s a true passion you’ll get good at it and someday sell books.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

I hope to see myself making money off my books in ten years as I will still be writing. As I said it’s a passion for me.

Have you always liked to write?

I’ve always been passionate about romance novels and was an avid reader for years, but I didn’t start writing until 1994. I’ve been doing it as a hobby ever since until 2014 when I decided I would work on Forever and a Night until it was good enough to sell. It was published 4/16.

What writing advice do you have for aspiring authors?

An aspiring author has to yearn to write. If it isn’t a passion and one that a person sets goals for it will be a very difficult journey. It takes hard work and a lot of dedication. Joining writers groups helped me and finding a writing buddy that was willing to critique my work.

Do you read reviews of your book(s)? Do you respond to them, good or bad? How do you deal with the bad?

Like any writer I love reviews and they are so very important to selling one’s books. Readers, if you read a book you like leave an Amazon review for that author. You’ll really be helping them out. I’ve yet to receive a really bad review. I keep my fingers crossed it will remain that way.

What is your least favourite part of the writing / publishing process?

My least favorite part of writing is the marketing. I have no idea what I’m doing there and a flounder a lot with trying to figure it out. But it’s a very necessary part of the process if you want to sell books.

What are you working on now?

I’m currently working on book four in my series which is about Mia’s youngest daughter who is a born vampire. She falls in love with a vampire much older than her and it is a source of conflict with her loved ones. But like any romance there is a villian stalking her that her love interest must save her from.

Of all the characters you have created, which is your favourite and why?

My favorite character of all my books is Tiffany Peebles who is my heroine in book two, Dark Experiments. She’s spunky, has an attitude and a big mouth. She says what she thinks and lets the chips fall where they may. She’s larger than life. I love her and loved writing her.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=share&v=YYTRKIhO1Pg Readers can go to my website: Home | Forever and a Night Lana Campbell

bottom of page